The Governing Body of Boroughbridge High School is comprised of 2 parent governors, 1 Local Authority governor, 1 staff governor, Head Teacher, and 6 co-opted governors. The total number of governors is 11.

The term of office for parent governors, co-opted governors and staff governor is four years. The term of office for the Local Authority governor is four years or until termination by the Local Authority.

The Instrument of Government came into effect 19 November 2016 and was made by order of North Yorkshire Local Authority on 16 November 2016.

The role of the Governing Body is to lead the strategic vision of the school and to hold the Head Teacher to account. The Head Teacher is responsible for the operational day-to-day running of the school. We are also responsible for ensuring the financial probity of the school.

Our Board comprises members who give of their time freely and who have a range of skills to enable them to carry out the job effectively. Our expertise comes from the worlds of Finance, Law, Education and Business amongst others. We regularly undertake training. The Headteacher also sits on the Board.

Our aim is to ensure that all students at Boroughbridge High School get the best education possible in a safe and welcoming environment and that they leave our school well-prepared for life in the future.

The Full Governing Body (FGB) meets once a month, excluding August. It is led by a Chair and two Vice-Chairs. The FGB is supported by a School Improvement Group which focuses on agreeing and monitoring actions to raise the achievement of our students and the performance of the school. The Chair and Vice Chairs of Governors and two other governors sit on this committee alongside the Headteacher and Deputy Headteacher.

Sub-committees and panels are set up when appropriate to deal with specific issues such as pupil or staff disciplinary matters, appointment of a head teacher or deputy head teacher and pay and performance management.

All governors have specific individual responsibilities linked either to an area of the School Improvement Plan or to a key area of the Governors responsibilities.


Local Authority Governor

  • Mrs S Meneely

Parent Governors

  • Mr L Davis
  • Mr I Yapp

Staff Governor

  • Mr C Inglis

Co-opted Governors

  • Mr M Dawson – Chair
  • Dr S Hargreaves – Vice Chair
  • Mr J Heller – Vice Chair
  • Mr B Horner
  • Mrs E Stamper
  • Vacancy

Associate Governor

  • Mrs P Town

Clerk to Governors

  • Lizzie Oliver


  • Miss K Stephenson

Members of the Governing Body may be contacted via:

Lizzie Oliver, Clerk to the Governors, Boroughbridge High School, Wetherby Road, Boroughbridge YO51 9JX